Retrospective Thinking

Of life , unless you are a somebody 

On the world stage or , even , living in 

Dozens of stages of life’s , of

Falling famedon into obscurity .

Life reduces fame to just becoming another obituary .

My own retrospective thinking 

Is just myself .

There is no fame attached 

To my name .

Except , maybe ,  a guy on CBC , 

Spouting scripts I give a listen to 

Just because I recognize the name .

I have lived in many different lifetimes .

We all have , who live past a month .

Maybe it’s only me 

But I hear and see the words and anecdotes 

Spoken about the famous and

Semi famous and the levels below them 

All the way down to the local town council 

And say , I see and hear myself in you .

What is retrospective thinking 

Without any comparisons ?

For me , it is being shaped by beliefs .

Beliefs in my heritage , my first life experiences ,

My next expanded life experiences 

Into Folk music and Bob Dylan .

Career was held precipitously  in a 

Momentous meeting with Chief Superintendent,

Striking favour instead of abandonment .

In other words , 

Not being fired gets you another 

Day of work .

Or about more than two decades of work .

Every day is a new tomorrow

That takes a life time of experiences .

It’s a reflective perspective

That catches me in this moment

In my aged year .

I’m living in an age of world war ,

Between

Heaven

And

Hell .

God,

You know me

Better than I know myself .

You are My

Redeemer

Jesus .

Peter.

.

Leave a comment